Lok Sabha elections 2019: Cricketer Gautam Gambhir joins BJP


News agency ANI tweeted informing, "Former Cricketer Gautam Gambhir joins Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) in the presence of Union Ministers Arun Jaitley and Ravi Shankar Prasad".

Earlier, in an interview with The Quint, Gambhir said, "Honestly, I haven't even thought about it, But If I join don't vote for Gambhir the cricketer".

Former batsman is likely to contest elections from one of the seven Delhi Lok Sabha seats. Recently, Arun Jaitley, the Union Minister, took a dig at the retired cricketer and termed him a "sympathizer" of Pakistan. The party hasn't revealed yet whether the cricketer will contest the upcoming national elections. Just two months ago, Gambhir had rubbished reports that he was joining politics. While many expressed their happiness on Gautam Gambhir's move, others weren't really happy and questioned his credibility.

BJP sources, however, said Gambhir may be fielded from the New Delhi constituency, now represented by the party's Meenakshi Lekhi. "I don't know who started it". He has played all formats of the game including domestic cricket for Delhi, captained Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League.

More news: Israeli Forces Shoot to Death 2 Palestinians in Nablus
More news: At least 93 killed as overloaded ferry sinks in Iraq's Tigris river
More news: Spurs extend streak to 9 straight, beat Warriors 111-105

Gambhir, who made his global debut in 2003, also led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) in the Indian Premier League. He is the only Indian and one of only four global batsman to score hundreds in five consecutive Tests in the 2009-10 season.

Gautam Gambhir was conferred the Arjuna Award, India's second highest sporting award, in 2008 by the President of India. In 2009, he was the number one ranked batsman in ICC Test rankings.

After getting selected, the 37-year-old Gambhir mentioned that he is inspired by Honourable Prime Minister Narendra Modi's vision.

In December 2018, he announced his retirement from all forms of cricket.