Fortnite account merging is now available - here's how to do it

Share

Account merging is a feature Epic announced at the end of past year, shortly after Sony agreed to cross-platform play.

With a little patience, however, you could soon have all of your Fortnite victories housed in a single, unified account that can be used on every platform.

It should also be noted that gamers must have played on each platform prior to September 28, 2018, while the account can not be banned or disabled.

Select the account you want to merge and disable (secondary account). On Epic's website, first you log in to whatever you want to be your primary account. Here's how to merge Fortnite accounts from PlayStation 4 to other consoles and transfer items from secondary accounts into the player's primary account. All of your cosmetic items and V-Bucks will then go on the primary. A holding period to make sure you're not trying anything phishy like stealing somebody else's account, I guess.

A little more fine print: not everything will make the jump.

More news: Virginia lieutenant governor on sexual assault allegations: 'The interactions were consensual'
More news: Tulsi Gabbard Russia Madness Is a Preview of 2020
More news: Trump's more measured on border security talks

The campaign will allow you to merge "Llamas, ' 'Defenders, ' 'Heroes, ' 'Schematics, ' 'Survivors, ' experience, 'Evolution, ' and 'Perk Materials" only. Being able to play against your friends regardless of what device they used has been one of Fortnite's strengths, but it made managing game resources sometimes more hard than it needed to be. Either way, all of your Fortnite Battle Royale stuff will be safe.

Linking console logins will let you merge all of your Fortnite cosmetic items and V-Bucks into one account, so if you play Fortnite on PS4, Xbox One, and Switch, here's what you need to do.

In-game items and Vbucks will be held for two weeks before they're merged to your primary account.

Wait 2 weeks for items to arrive in the primary account.

Epic highlight that other items such as Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account levels and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account and will be gone, potentially forever, upon the successful merger of your accounts.

Share