Almost a year later, work on the feature appears to be complete, as Facebook revealed in a blog post on Tuesday that all users now have the option to remove messages that they've sent on Messenger, whether it was to a single person or a group of people. But you better act fast - the grace period lasts only 10 minutes.
The other option that will appear is "Remove for You", which only prevents you from seeing the message, but everyone else in the conversation can still view it. You have 10 minutes to remove a message after it's been sent, and it'll be replaced with text letting everyone know a message was deleted.
If you're unhappy with a message, just click on it and you'll be able to choose to "Remove for Everyone" or "Remove for You". The Unsend feature, by contrast, will allow users to completely remove the message as if it never happened. This functionality will start rolling out today to everyone. Click on it, and you'll delete the message in question.More news: 'Intra-Afghan' Talks Under Way In Moscow Amid Continuing Violence
More news: U.K. Parliament Warned on No-Deal Brexit as Nissan Backs Out
More news: European round-up: Messi injury worry after Barcelona are held
After selecting 'Remove for Everyone, ' users will get a warning that says: 'You'll permanently remove this message for all chat members. Facebook cited the resultant increased security in Zuck's obtaining the Messenger unsend feature early.
TechCrunch reported that Mark Zuckerberg's messages disappeared from chats while the other party's messages remained, causing a stir.
15 years ago, on February 4, 2004, 19-year old Harvard student Mark Zuckerberg, along with some of his classmates, launched a little website called Thefacebook.