Hall of Fame selection committee spent only 2 minutes discussing Ed Reed


The announcement came Saturday night in Atlanta, the city where Gonzalez finished his dazzling career.

Faneca had been a finalist for the third straight year, but the road for an interior offensive lineman isn't an easy one. The others were cornerbacks Champ Bailey and Ty Law, and safety Johnny Robinson.

In his career, James was named to four Pro Bowls and rushed for 12,246 yards, which ranks 13th on the all-time list.

Bailey revolutionized his position as one of the first players to shadow his opponent's No. 1 receiver.

The 48-year-old spent most of his career with the New York Jets and also played with the Tennessee Titans and Seattle Seahawks.

More news: Huawei 'distrust' and 'irrational' USA trade war slammed by leading Chinese academic
More news: Johnson prevails down the stretch in Saudi Arabia
More news: Brazilian officials freeze more Vale assets over dam collapse

Law won three Super Bowls as a member of the Patriots dynasty in the 2000s, anchoring the team's secondary with incredible awareness and sticky coverage.

Mawae is the first player who played a substantial portion of his career with the Jets to be elected to the Hall of Fame since running back Curtis Martin in 2012. The 74-year-old is the only owner in National Football League history to see his team accumulate 300 wins during his first 30 seasons.

Brandt was the Cowboys' vice president of player personnel from 1960-88, which included two world championship seasons. He helped create the NFL Scouting Combine as a centralization of the draft's evaluation process.

Hall of Famers are chosen by a 48-member committee of media members.