Students and fans of Clemson University celebrate championship


It was the Tigers who came out on top Monday night - in a major way - 44-16 over the Crimson Tide to pull Dabo Swinney and Nick Saban 2-2 in postseason competition.

The previous worst loss for a Saban-led Alabama team was by 14 points, which happened three times - the 2009 Sugar Bowl loss to Utah (31-17), the 2010 regular-season loss at SC (35-21), and the 2014 Sugar Bowl loss to Oklahoma (45-31).

Lawrence threw for 347 yards with three touchdowns and no interceptions, and he will have a lot of help returning on offense too with running back Travis Etienne and wide receiver Justyn Ross.

"For our seniors to be able to go out 15-0, and truly the best ever", Swinney said".

More news: Amazon boss Jeff Bezos and wife MacKenzie announce divorce
More news: Pacific Gas pays price for wildfire
More news: Timothy Weah expecting to play as a No. 9 with Celtic

There is plenty yet to be written as we head into 2019, but first, some team (s) are going to need to figure out a way to beat Alabama and Clemson.

Tua Tagovailoa passed for 295 yards and two TD's but was intercepted twice, including a pick-six. The Crimson Tide beat the Tigers in last year's semifinals before beating Georgia in the title game. He also became the first true freshman quarterback to start and win a national title since 1986. The 15-point halftime deficit was the largest the Tide has ever faced under Saban.

Nearly as shocking as Clemson, a program that promoted an obscure receivers coach to lead the program 10 years ago, climbing over the traditional powers to the top of college football. Our goal is to win the closer right there.