Tagovailoa's hold on Heisman slipping as finalists announced


Quarterback Will Grier put together one of the finest individual seasons in West Virginia football history, but ultimately it was not enough to earn a trip to New York City as one of the finalists for the Heisman Trophy. Still, the Alabama quarterback would make for a worthy trophy recepient, totaling 3,353 passing yards and 37 touchdowns while leading the Crimson Tide to the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff.

The Alabama quarterback was announced Monday as one of three finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy Award and will join Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins in NY for Saturday night's trophy presentation.

The 2018 Heisman Trophy victor will be announced on Saturday, De.

OU's other Heisman finalists were linebacker Brian Bosworth (1986), quarterback Josh Heupel (2000), quarterback Jason White (2003 and 2004), running back Adrian Peterson (2004), quarterback Sam Bradford (2008), wide receiver Dede Westbrook (2016) and quarterback Baker Mayfield (2016 and '17).

More news: Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp accepts FA charge over Merseyside derby celebration
More news: Late President George H.W. Bush lies in state in Washington
More news: Trump Praises Bush as 'A High-Quality Man'

Also, the Sooners are the only program to ever produce four Heisman finalists in a three-year span. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. At least three and as many as five finalists are invited to presentation ceremony.

Haskins had a terrific season as well, setting a Big Ten record with 47 touchdown passes and completing 70.2 percent of his passes for 4,580 yards for the Big Ten champion Buckeyes, who will face Washington in the Rose Bowl on January 1.

The 23-year-old Browns quarterback, who was a star playing with the Sooners from 2015-17, holds a lifetime vote for the award because he won it last season.

No school has ever produced back-to-back Heisman Trophy winners who were quarterbacks.