Facebook Messenger to introduce new 'delete sent messages' feature

Share

Now Facebook is planning to save Messenger users from some of this pain.

If you're too drunk to realize you're sending messages to someone late at night, you're probably too drunk to remember you have 10 minutes to delete them.

Indeed, it would - and that's why some of the most popular messaging platforms in use today (i.e., WhatsApp) have recently introduced the ability to "unsend" any message dispatched via its mobile chat application for up to one hour after the message had sent. At least, that's how its worked for users whose name isn't Mark Zuckerberg. Facebook apologized and that they would be rolling out an unsend feature to everyone in the coming months.

More news: Detained SA journalists "returned to hotel"
More news: Scientists are now arguing about whether Oumuamua was sent by aliens
More news: Midterms serve as practice run for Trump's 2020 re-election campaign

Conflicting message aside, it would seem like a pretty tight window, compared to the implementation by other apps.

Facebook didn't announce the feature yet, but The Verge spotted it in the "coming soon" section of the release notes from Messenger for iPhone version 191.0.

The much-anticipated "unsend" feature appears to be imminent for Facebook Messenger users. Gmail allows users the time intervals of 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds to take back that drunk email you never should have sent in the first place. Both apps are owned by Facebook. We reported back in October about the functionality, pointing out the benefits and disadvantages of the Unsend messages option.

Share