Wong seeks Gold Glove honor Sunday


The 2018 Gold Glove Award is the third of LeMahieu's career, as he was also the National League recipient at second base in 2014 and in 2017.

Colorado Rockies infielder DJ LeMahieu, who helped lead LSU to the 2009 College World Series title, was named the victor Sunday night of the 2018 National League Gold Glove Award at second base.

The Gold Glove Awards will be unveiled at 4 p.m. Sunday in an hour-long presentation on ESPN. It was the fourth tie in the history of the award.

He said he was honored to have won the award and proud of the hard work he's given this season. While he was not named the best left fielder in the American League, Benintendi was real close and has a great chance to win in the coming years. A little more than eight months later, he is the National League's Gold Glove left fielder.

More news: Welcoming the most powerful iPad Pro yet
More news: National Football League teams up with Epic Games, enters world of 'Fortnite'
More news: Why James Milner was furious with teammates during Arsenal match

Arenado is the seventh third baseman in Major League Baseball history to win at least six Gold Gloves, the third NL third baseman to accomplish the feat (Scott Rolen, Mike Schmidt). Baez, who started at second (75 games), shortstop (52) and third (18), claimed his third consecutive multi-position Fielding Bible Award.

It marked the first time since 2013 the Red Sox have claimed multiple Gold Glove winners, with Dustin Pedroia and Shane Victorino having won it during that championship season.

Balloting for the Gold Glove Award includes votes from each manager and six coaches from their staff who can not vote for players from their own team, and a sabermetric component accounts for 25 percent of the overall voting total. Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons also won in the AL.