Andre Russell to miss T20I series against India


All-rounder Krunal Pandya and left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed received their maiden T20I cap on Sunday as they made their debut for India in the first T20I against West Indies at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Rishabh Pant has been included in the squad in place of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

What time does the 1st T20I between India vs West Indies start? Former West Indies captain Brian Lara is mighty impressed with the way Kohli has taken his batting and captaincy to the next level.

Russell was supposed to join the T20I squad in Kolkata with another six players, but he was not present at the venue iduring any of the practice sessions in the last three days. Several new faces have been inducted into the Indian team to test the struggling West Indies team in 3-match T20I series.

The Windies were outplayed by India in the Test series but they are a different beast when it comes to the T20s.

Since capturing the T20 World Cup two years ago under the now-discarded Darren Sammy, the Caribbean has struggled, losing 13 of their 23 outings. Carlos Brathwaite will captain the visitors. The two sides will lock horns at Eden Gardens. Hotstar, JioTV and Airtel TV will live stream India vs West Indies match.

More news: NY state health insurance marketplace open for enrollment
More news: Deepika Padukone's pre-wedding celebrations begin with puja
More news: Venice Hit by Worst Flooding in a Decade

Kohli was in a brilliant form during the recently concluded ODI series and with 453 runs in five matches, he was unarguably the best choice to claim the Man of the Series award.

Captaincy seems to bring out the best in Sharma who notched up 317 runs (average 105.66) in five innings in their title-winning campaign at the Asia Cup.

India, on the other hand, are trying their fringe players in this series.

Kohli's absence would mean KL Rahul will come into the picture while Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant are expected to add firepower in the middle order alongside Krunal Pandya. India will be looking at its current No. 2 ranking in the ICC list to fire itself up for the challenge. He also said that neither he nor Sachin ever bothered about comparisons when they were playing.

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem.

The highly-anticipated match will be played on November 4, Sunday, and it will start at 7 pm India time.