Nintendo Switch Firmware 6.0.0 Arrives September 18, 2018

Share

If you've been waiting for more concrete details on the Switch Online service, Nintendo-barring any last minute interruptions-will finally have some news for you tomorrow morning.

North America's Direct kicks off at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET, while Europe's stream begins at 11 PM BST. However, it looks as if Nintendo will be shedding some more light on the matter tomorrow, when it will be hosting a new Direct presentation.

Nintendo Switch Online pricing plans in Canada will start at $4.99 per month.

Once Switch Online is out the gate, you'll need an active subscription to play games online.

Nintendo Switch Online has been a long time coming.

More news: Djokovic, Nadal and Federer in unthinkable three-year first
More news: Apple to reveal new iPhones and Apple Watch
More news: Spain thrashes Croatia 6-0 in UEFA Nations League

Nintendo Switch Online will also give subscribers the ability to back up their save data in the cloud.

That said, it's not all rosy: One of the biggest disappointments about the proposed online play of the Switch was that the only way to get voice chat going was apparently via the dubious Switch Online app.

In addition, Nintendo Switch eShop maintenance has been announced.

The Direct, which was rescheduled following the natural disaster that struck Hokkaido earlier this month, will include news on 3DS titles, Switch games and the long awaited Nintendo Switch Online service.

Share