Shahid Afridi Mocks Rashid Khan After Latter Drops a Catch


Despite the match between the West Indies and World XI being exclusively for charity, there were still serious question marks over Hussian's position on the field, given the match had full global status, and players' stats were officially counted towards their records.

Former Pakistan cricketer Shahid Afridi was afforded a guard of honour during the charity T20 match between West Indies and World XI at Lord's on Thursday evening as he declared that would be his last match in global cricket. Part of the campaign was a cricket match that was played at Edgbaston and featured the likes of Imran Khan and Ian Botham in the World XI.

Shahid Afridi will lead the World XI in place of England's Eoin Morgan, who withdrew due to a fractured finger. Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi took a wicket each, while Afghanistan's Rashid Khan bagged two. The Pakistani cricketer responded to the former England man saying, "No that's it". Iqbal, Billings, Karthik, Ronchi and Malik, with Afridi and Perera providing excellent options for a late burst, makes for a mouth-watering batting line-up.

But the most exciting is perhaps the spin attack, or the leg-spin attack, with the two Rashids and Lamichhane all available for selection, not to forget Afridi himself.

More news: Damarious Randall makes very expensive bet against Cavs
More news: National Basketball Association facing lawsuit in death of G-League player
More news: USA man jailed in Venezuela on 'bogus' charges returns home

Meanwhile, Carlos Brathwaite West Indies Squad will include Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russel, Marlon Samuels, and Kesrick Williams.

The World XI lost their top four wickets with just eight runs on the board even as Sri Lankan Thisara Perera raged a lone battle with a 37-ball 61, containing seven fours and three sixes.

There have been many World XI matches in the past, some of which have witnessed some incredible individuals performances over the years.

Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Andre Russell are among the other leading players in the squad.